Houston Calling

Buxton and Wild Moccasins sign to New West Records

January 7th, 2011 · No Comments

This just in:

Los Angeles, CA – January 7, 2011 — New West Records is excited to announce signing Houston-based bands Buxton and Wild Moccasins.  Both groups caught theattention of New West owner George Fontaine, himself a Houston resident and co-owner of Cactus Records, the city’s leading independent record store.

Buxton is a five piece folk-rock ensemble with Sergio Trevino on Vocals/Guitar, Jason Willis on lead Guitar/Mandolin, Chris Wise on Bass Guitar, Justin Terrell on Drums and Austin Sepulvado on Guitar/Vocals. The band, with two self-released albums, is critically acclaimed at home with the Houston Press declaring “Simply put, these guys are getting ridiculously good.” Buxton’s previous albums are Red Follows Red (2005) and A Family Light (2008) and a 7 inch singlereleased in 2009 titled Feathers.  Their first New West release, Nothing Here Seems Strange is expected this summer.

Wild Moccasins blend the vocals of Zahira Gutierrez and Cody Swann with Andrew Lee on guitar, Nicholas Cody on bass and the pop-infused percussion of John Baldwin. Winners of the 2009 Houston Press Music Award in the Best EP category for their self-released Microscopic Metronomes, the band has a loyal following, selling out shows consistently in their hometown of Houston.  Wild Moccasins look forward to a 41 date European tour starting February 26, taking them through the UK, Netherlands, France and Germany.  Skin Collision Past, the band’s latest self-released album, will be re-released by New West Records this spring.

About New West Records

New West Records LLC is a wholly independent record label distributed in the United States by RED Distribution.  With offices in Beverly Hills, CA, Athens, GA and Austin TX, the label boasts a number of Grammy® award winning artists including Dwight Yoakam, Steve Earle, Kris Kristofferson and Delbert McClinton. In addition, the roster includes Ben Lee, Buddy & Julie Miller, Buxton, Corb Lund, John Hiatt, Jordan Zevon, Old 97’s, Ponderosa, Stephen Bruton, The Drams,The Flatlanders and Wild Moccasins. The extensive catalogue includes releases from Benji Hughes, Drive-By Truckers, Ian Hunter, Jason Isbell, Mark Olson &Gary Louris, Randall Bramblett, Ray Davies, Tim Easton and Rickie Lee Jones, Vic Chesnutt. New West Records exclusively releases CDs and DVDs from the award-winning television program “Austin City Limits” in addition to several movie soundtracks including the Grammy Nominated Crazy Heart Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, which features the Academy Award winning song “The Weary Kind (Theme From Crazy Heart)” written by Ryan Bingham and T-Bone Burnett.

Tags: Miscellaneous · Music

0 responses so far ↓

  • There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment