Houston Calling

Houston Press Music Awards winners

July 31st, 2009 · No Comments

Here are the award winners from last night’s Houston Press Music Awards ceremony.

Mechanical Boy‘s “She Does”, “Best Local Song of the Year”
Mechanical Boy, “Best Rock”
B L A C K I E, “Best Songwriter”
Roky Moon & BOLT, “Best New Act”
Little Joe Washington, “Best Local Musician of the Year”
Little Joe Washington,”Best Blues”
Spain Colored Orange, “Best Indie Rock”
Sean Reefer & the Resin Valley Boys, “Best Country”
Kam, “Best Soul/Funk/R&B”
Chris Applegate (Mechanical Boy), “Best Bassist”
Ryan Scroggins (Ryan Scroggins & the Trenchtown Texans), “Best Keyboardist”
Nick Cooper (Free Radicals), “Best Drummer”
Little Joe Washington, “Best Guitarist”
Geoffrey Muller, “Best Miscellaneous Instrument”
Free Radicals, “Best Jazz”
Two Star Symphony, “Best Experimental/Instrumental”
Homopolice / A Dream Asleep (tie), “Best Hardcore/Noise”
Wild Moccasins (Microscopic Metronomes), “Best Local EP/7-inch”  Mango’s, “Best New Venue”
Golden Axe, “Best Metal”
Beetle, “Best Tribute Band”
The Flamin’ Hellcats, “Best Punk”
Kristine Mills, “Best Female Vocals”
Cornbreadd, “Best Male Vocals”
DJ Sun, “Best DJ”
Sideshow Tramps, “Best Roots”
Flying Fish Sailors, “Best Folk”
D.R.U.M., “Best World Music”
Zydeco Dots, “Best Zydeco”
Fat Tony, “Best Underground Hip-Hop”
Bun B (UGK for Life), “Best Local CD/LP”
Warehouse Live, “Best Music Venue”
Los Skarnales, “Best Latin Contemporary”
Los Pistoleros de Tejas, “Best Latin Traditional”
Speakerboxx, “Best DJ Night”
Swishahouse, “Best Local Label”
KPFT 90.1, “Best Radio Station”
Rockin’ Robin, “Best Instrument/Equipment Store”
Lost Fidelity, (David Rangel, KACC 89.7), “Best Radio Program (Music)”
Cactus Music, “Best Record Store”

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees.

More information can be found at the Houston Press website.

Tags: Miscellaneous · Music · Reviews

0 responses so far ↓

  • There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment